Coconut Acorn Squash

I asked on Facebook recently what people would like to see me cook. This was a request by The My. I hope you like it!

I’ve made acorn squash before. It’s a tasty hard squash that will start coming into season soon. It has beautiful orange flesh and the outside has ridges, green skin with spots of orange. I tried something I’ve never done before with this recipe and I’m very happy with the way it turned out.

Coconut Acorn Squash

1 acorn squash halved and seeded

1/2 cup of unsweetened coconut chips

salt and pepper to taste

(dash of cinnamon optional)

1tbsp of bacon fat (or whatever you have on hand)

I spread the bacon fat on the squash like butter. If you prefer use coconut oil or real butter go right on and do so.

Then I sprinkled salt, pepper, coconut, and cinnamon. T doesn’t like sweet things so I left the cinnamon off of his.

Wrap them up in tin foil and place on the grill over indirect heat.  They will take about 45 minutes to cook up. You can of course use your oven 350 is ideal, but it’s too hot right now, so I cooked them outside.

They will be easy to pierce with a fork or knife when they are done.

I eat it right out of the skin with some tasty protein like a pork ribeye.

While it’s not toxic, I don’t recommend eating the skin. It’s hard and doesn’t taste good.

 

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

2 responses to “Coconut Acorn Squash

Leave a comment