Summer Slaw Salad

Who’s excited for grilling, sunshine, and fireworks? I am. This is light and refreshing alternative to coleslaw that will go great with your celebratory BBQ tomorrow.

Summer Slaw Salad

1/2 head of cabbage sliced thin (~2 1/2 cups)

1/2 large zucchini peeled with a julienne peeler (my zucchini are enormous so you might want to use 2 small zucchini)

6 sweet mini peppers sliced thin

4 green onions sliced

3 garlic cloves minced

1 jalapeno minced

3 tbsp of rice wine vinegar

2 tsp of sesame oil

A few sprinkles of toasted sesame seeds

Mix everything in a bowl.

Just before serving sprinkle the seeds on top reserve these if you plan on refrigerating it over night. I made this the day before so the flavors would meld together by tomorrow.

Happy 4th of July everyone! Have a save and lovely holiday. If you are working tomorrow, thank you. We couldn’t do it without you.

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

2 responses to “Summer Slaw Salad

  • easynaturalfood

    I love slaws of all kinds, but I’m only tried making mayo versions. I love your oil an vinegar approach. I’m hosting a weekly link up over summer specifically for salads of all types, every Sunday! I would love you to come and post this recipe. Just stop by my blog on Sunday – the link will be up!
    http://www.easynaturalfood.com

    I hope to see you there:)
    Debbie

    • thatgirldownsouth

      The best part of mayo free (besides the health factor) is there is much less concern for it going bad at the picnic.
      Share away! Just make sure you provide a link back to this site for me. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

