Ruby Chard

While at the grocery store I saw some ruby chard. If you’ve never seen it is beautiful! My pictures do not do it justice. It is a leafy green vegetable with a bright red stalk.

The stalk resembles celery and is edible but requires a little more cooking time. I went for a variation on how I cook collard greens to try these out. When I first bit into it I thought it tasted like beets. Turns out chard is part of the beet family. So that explains the taste. Chard is high in Vitamins A, C and iron. I have another head of chard in the fridge to try out but I wasn’t totally sold on my first experience.

Ruby Chard

1 head of chard

1/2 an onion

2 cloves of garlic

1″ of ginger

Wash the chard. Trim leaves from stalk. Cut stalk into 2″ pieces and place to the side. Cut up the leaves into ~2″ squares and place to the side. Mince the garlic and ginger and dice the onion.

In a fry pan, sauté the onions for about 3 minutes. Add the garlic and ginger and cook for another 2 minutes. Add the stalks and about 1/2 cup of water or chicken stock.

Cook for about 3 minutes. Add the leaves and cook for another 7 minutes. Stalks should be tender when done. The chard loses some of if red coloring during cooking but is still a pretty side dish. Serve as a side dish for dinner. We are eating Kibbeh here. It’s a variation of this recipe.

*After eating this as leftovers and trying another bunch cooked in the same manner as my collard greens I will say they are growing on me but I still prefer collards and mustard for my greens.

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

2 responses to “Ruby Chard

  • Missy Beach

    About the chard. I planted some two springs ago, not really knowing what it was but they had it at Home Depot then. Well, that stuff is still beautiful. It evidently loves Beaumont. It was the only thing in my garden that made it through the drought and winter. It grows like crazy. Thanks for the recipe, cause I really didn’t know what to do with it.

    • thatgirldownsouth

      Try also cooking it like the collard greens I make. I’m going to try that next and I think it would be tasty. The beet flavor really threw me off at first. The leftovers I ate were tastier for me because I knew what to expect.

Leave a Reply

