Snack Nuts

I eat lunch at 10:30 in the morning when at work. It’s one of the perks of being a Pre-K teacher. Because of this I’m usually pretty hungry when I get home. I’ve taken to making some toasted nuts for a snack. Here I used 1.5 cups of cashews, about 2tsp of olive oil and a pinch of salt. I’ve made pecans and almonds the same way but with some garlic powder and cayenne also. It’s a very tasty snack and I split these with T until dinner is ready.

It’s got all the flavor and enough protein and fat to tide me over. These are a lot better for you than nuts you’ll get at the store because you can control the amount of salt and oil added to them. Nuts are also cheaper when bought raw in bulk than when toasted and salted.  I’ve tried a few different combinations with honey to make a sweeter nut but they are always very sticky, tasty, but too sticky for a good snack. I will stick with the savory side of things.

Give it a try for your next snack craving.

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

Leave a Reply

