Pumpkin Ginger Bread

I’ve been reveling in all the holiday flavors lately. Ginger, squash, pumpkin, apples, cinnamon, cloves. oooh it all makes me so happy. I want to wrap up in a big soft blanket and drink hot tea. Sadly right now my air conditioner is on and I got eaten up by mosquitoes on the walk with the dogs. grrr. However, I haven’t let it stop the fall explosion that’s happening in my kitchen right now. I’ve been trying to devise a way to make two of my favorite flavors make sense together in baked goods. I came up with this recipe for pumpkin ginger bread muffins. I used real pumpkin puree I made myself and real fresh ginger. These muffins came out so good. I used the Joy of Cooking’s pumpkin bread recipe as a guide but changed it to add in my own version of ginger bread. If you don’t make these you are sorely missing out

Pumpkin Ginger Bread

2 pumpkins (pie pumpkins not carving pumpkins) to make 2 cups of puree

2″ fresh ginger diced

4 eggs

1stick of butter

1 1/3 cup molasses

2 tsp vanilla

3 cups of flour

1 cup sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp all spice

1 tsp nutmeg

Halve the pumpkins and scrape out all the seeds.

Roast them in the oven at 375 for 45 minutes or until soft. Remove them from the oven and let them cool.

When the pumpkins are cool enough to handle scrape the flesh out and into a blender. Puree the pumpkin until smooth. I ended up with quite a bit more pumpkin than I needed. 1 pumpkin would probably be enough for 2 cups of puree.

I put the extra in the freezer for something else. (More muffins?) Mix all of your dry ingredients first. Add all your wet ingredients next. Mix until smooth.

Bake on a greased muffin pan at 350 for about 30 minutes. Check the centers with a toothpick. If you can push a toothpick in and it comes out clean then the muffin is done. For half of these I topped them with sweetened coconut and crushed pecans.

They are perfectly fall tasting and the fresh ingredients really augment the recipe. If you don’t want to go through all the trouble of roasting the pumpkin you can used canned pumpkin. But, where is the fun in that?

 

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

2 responses to “Pumpkin Ginger Bread

Leave a Reply

