Tangine Pork

I have said it before, but I love to use ‘Cooking Light” as a resource. I saw this recipe in the last issue of the magazine and had to make it. I couldn’t find Hungarian sweet paprika so I used smoked paprika. (I don’t know if this was a suitable substitute, but it tasted great) It had some of my favorite ingredients pork, saffron, cinnamon, and butternut squash. We ate this over brown rice. You can omit the rice and it would be equally good. I wish I could say I adapted this or made it my own but it is amazing the  way it is written and so I changed nothing.

Tangine Style Pork

1 pound cubed pork tenderloin

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1 tablespoon cooking fat (I used lard)

2/3 cup chopped onion

3/4 teaspoon Hungarian sweet paprika

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper

1/8 teaspoon saffron threads

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 1/2 cups water

1 cup fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth

1 (3-inch) cinnamon stick

3 cups cubed butternut squash

12 pearl onions, peeled (pearl onions were too expensive so I bought mini onions, but any large chopped onion would be good)

1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley

2 tablespoons lemon juice

Heat the fat in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add pork, and sauté for 2 minutes.

Add onion, paprika, ground cumin, red pepper, saffron, garlic and onions; sauté for 1 minute. Stir in water, chicken broth, and cinnamon stick. Bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer for 15 minutes.

Stir in butternut squash. Cook, covered, for 30 minutes or until the vegetables are tender. Remove from heat, and stir in parsley,  and lemon juice.

The lemon and parsley really compliment the meal really well. It is a hearty meal that makes a lot of food. I ended up doubling the recipe so now I have leftovers for the week. You could add beans or some root veggies to stretch the meal a bit. The color just makes me so happy. It’s a combination of the saffron and the squash. It is so orange it’s amazing.

 

**This conversation was had on my leetstreet facebook page and I thought it would be helpful to all that read here**

Tone- The Spanish paprika is the same as sweet hungarian paprika. I grew up with it and use it in everything from eggs to stews. I get the Badia brand and is readily available in most hispanic food isle. The one I use is not smoked, just pure paprika. Did you know that the US word peppers (the red, yellow and green kinds) are the same as paprika in Europe? And sweet paprika is the name of the red kind? I was super confused when I first came here looking for paprika and all I could find was peppers. Lol For years I would buy my sweet paprika spice from home, but now that I have found Goya and Badia, I buy it here 🙂

Thanks Tone!

Btw everybody go make friends with my facebook page. I promise it will be nice!

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

3 responses to “Tangine Pork

Leave a Reply

