Momma’s Stuffed Zucchini


My mom is awesome. I love her dearly and learned so much in the kitchen from her. Below is a recipe she sent me to share with you. I wish I was there to have eaten this. It sounds awesome. For the paleo kids you can use another egg or nut flour in place of the panko to make this 100% paleo.

Momma’s Stuffed Zucchini

What do you do when your neighbor comes by and so pleasantly offer you some lovely bounty from their garden?  You take it of course.  Invariably there are those freakishly large Zucchini amongst the bounty.   I am talking Squash the size of Grok’s Prehistoric Club. They were too big a vegetable even for a family of 12.  I’m talking really huge. You could tell your neighbor to go stuff it, but it’s always better if you stuff it yourself!  That’s just what I did – YUMMM MAY good stuff.

Here is what I did:

1 large zucchini (sorry should of taken a picture of it before hand)
1 LB ground beef
fresh spices from the garden – at least one handful each of the following: basil, thyme, sage & chives
1 diced sweet yellow onion
1 sweet bell pepper – diced
1 egg
1/4 C parmesan cheese
1/4 C panko crumbs (ok not paleo but needed to hold this together!)
Salt and Pepper to taste

Cut large zucchini lengthwise, but not in half, more like 1 /3 off the top.
Cut off stem end & bud end.
Scrape out seeds and some of the vast interior of this behemoth squash.  Leave about 1 inch of the squash for a shell.
Toss what you scraped out in to your compost.
Mix the meat mixture above, stuff in the cavity.  Salt and pepper the top as desired.
Place on a greased cookie sheet in the oven at 350 degrees for an hour.
Check for done-ness.  Timing will vary as to size of zucchini and how much meat you have in the cavity.  I inserted a meat thermometer to verify it was done. (160 internal temp)

I also roasted the top of the zucchini I cut off at the same time I cooked my stuffed squash for eating later.  I love roasted zucchini; especially when it is well browned.  To do this I coated it sparingly with olive oil and a little salt and fresh ground pepper, placing it on a well oiled cookie sheet.
Great for a snack or meal later….

But back to the meal, slice the stuffed zucchini about 3 inches per person, I served mine with a side of quinoa & fresh garden green beans.

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

Leave a Reply

