Pork Shoulder Roast

Because school has gotten the best of me lately I have been trying to make meals that will last most of the week with minimal effort on my part. This roast was something that I prepared on Sunday with a bunch of other food. I put it in the oven before work on Monday and came home to dinner ready. It was quite simple and made a bunch of leftovers. There was still some left at the end of the week that I used for egg cups the next week.  The ingredients are simple and the prep is easy.

Pork Shoulder Roast

1 large pork roast

5 carrots cut in large chunks

3 red bell peppers (or whatever color makes you happy)

1.5  yellow onion sliced

5 cloves of garlic minced

salt and pepper to taste

I started by seasoning my roast liberally with salt and pepper. Remember that this is a huge chunk of meat so use more that you normally would. I Browned the meat side in the pan I was going to slow cook the roast in. One side had a thick layer of fat on it and wouldn’t brown at all so I stopped trying.  To the pot, I added all the vegetables. Since I was making this a day ahead,  I placed it in the refrigerator overnight.

The next morning I put the roast in the oven with a lid. I cooked at 250 all day. Place your roast with the fat side up. This will help keep the meat moist. I didn’t add any liquid to the pot. The vegetables will cook down and the juice from the meat will keep everything moist. This went in at about 7am and I came home at about 6pm. You do not have to cook this for as long as I did. But, if you too have a very long work day this is perfect to come home to. To decrease the time increase the temperature. For quicker cooking try cooking it at 400 for about 4-5 hours. Just make sure and check the internal temperature before you eat.

 

I tried to make some cracklins on the top so I turned up the broiler and really roasted the skin for the last five minutes. I didn’t have the effect I wanted. The roast was still good, the  skin just got really hard. I will one day figure out how to make cracklins and let you know the secret magic that has to happen here. We cut off slices and dished it out with the veggies and a little juice from the pot. It was very nice to have something so filling and home-cooked to come home to without any effort after a long day at work.

 

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

Leave a comment