Hawaiian Bacon Wraps

I made these for an appetizer this weekend. They are super easy and only have a few ingredients. I called them Hawaiian wraps because they remind me of a Hawaiian pizza. Oh pizza, I miss you. These are a great thing to bring to a party and are easily assembled.

Hawaiian Bacon Wraps

1 package of bacon (get the cheaper thinner kind, fancy thick cut bacon is hard to wrap)

1 can of unsweetened pineapple drained

3 jalapenos sliced

A few slices of onion (optional)

Cut bacon in half. I experimented with 1/4 pieces of bacon too. Place one piece of pineapple in a jalapeno slice.

Knock out the seeds of the jalapeno for a less spicy appetizer. One thing I learned while watching The Food Network is that if you lick a cut slice of raw jalapeno you can tell the heat of that pepper. Some peppers are super duper hot while others could be eaten whole without even breaking a sweat. Tasting the cut pepper gives you an idea of its heat. If you are making these for company obviously lick the stem side that you intend to throw out. Not the cut side you are about to wrap. Place the jalapeno/pineapple on top of the bacon.

Wrap the bacon all the way over the top and tuck under.

Skewer this to hold in place.

Sparkly nails are optional. Bake on top of a baking tray with a cookie sheet underneath to catch the drippings. I made some with pineapple and onion, some with pineapple and jalapeno, and some with all three ingredients.

I even made ones where the jalapeno was around the pineapple like a belt.

Basically I played with my food until I had no more bacon left. The onion/pineapple ones were small enough for a 1/4 piece of bacon.  The ones with jalapeno needed 1/2 a piece of bacon.

This one in the corner has a hat! I baked these in the oven at 300 until the bacon was cooked through. For me this was about 25 minutes. Obviously, check and make sure your bacon is done before gobbling them up. I had to wrap these up so I wouldn’t snack on them all day.

A Hawaiian fish for a Hawaiian treat! I really think they had all the essential flavors of one of my favorite pizzas without the dough!

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

3 responses to “Hawaiian Bacon Wraps

Leave a Reply

