Coconut Almond Cookies

This is my first attempt at making paleo baked goods. I have been craving cookies. I wasn’t about to go and buy anything new to make these either. So, I guess you could call them lazy craving cookies. I think they came out pretty good. They are moist and not dense like I had worried they would be. They are not very sweet which is okay by me. The ones I made with raisins were obviously sweeter. After checking out a few sites for paleo cookie recipes I realize I’ll need to double the honey to get the desired sweetness. This is the recipe I made today without any changes. If you want a sweeter cookie increase the honey to 1/3 cup up to 1/2 cup.

Coconut Almond Cookies

2 1/3 cups shredded coconut (divided)

1 cup whole almonds

1/3 cup almond butter (I made my own with honey and coconut oil)

3 eggs

1/3 cup honey

1 1/2 tbsp butter

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

Pecans and raisins optional I used about 1/2 cup of each

Process 2 cups of shredded coconut and all of the almonds until a fine meal is produced. You could go the easier route and buy coconut flour and almond flour, but like I said I was lazy and didn’t feel like buying anything. This way is also a little cheaper. Add your meal to a mixing bowl. Add the remaining ingredients and mix until incorporated. I actually removed half of the batter and placed it back in my food processor to make it finer. I’m so impatient when blending things that often it’s still too chunky. Aside from making it finer I don’t think this step did anything. If you are more patient than me I doubt you’ll need to do this.

I scooped out the dough with a large tablespoon onto a greased cookie tray. I rolled one cookie out and it was pretty and prefect and round but I didn’t really like it looking that way. I preferred the haphazard look to the plopped cookies. After I plopped down as many cookies as would fit I pushed a pecan in the middle. I baked these at 350 for 12 minutes rotating halfway through. (My oven is old and heats unevenly. If your oven was made in this decade it might not be necessary to rotate. ) Half of the batter was made without raisins for T the other half had a handful thrown in and mixed in.

In the time it has taken me to take pictures and type this up I’ve eaten 3. I think T (who said they weren’t sweet enough) has had an equal number. These are good. They’ve satisfied my cravings for a cookie and now I’ll have to find a way to ration myself to only one cookie a day instead of half a dozen.


About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

2 responses to “Coconut Almond Cookies

Leave a Reply

