Thai Stuffed Peppers part two

Friday I made the sausage to stuff these peppers with. Go check that post out first.

I said it on Facebook, but it bears repeating. I have had a lot of fun experimenting and coming up with all the flavors in this meal. I really think it has come together nicely. I used the sausage I made on Friday to fill the peppers. I also created a green sauce to put on top. I was trying to recreate the flavors you get when you have a green plate with your Pho. Pho is Vietnamese noodle soup (I know I’m mixing up my nationalities in this meal but trust me it works). All this is served over some saffron cauliflower rice. I told ya’ll on Friday that this would be an epic meal. This is not a meal that you can throw together quickly, sorry. It is a meal that is worth the effort for a nice dinner party like this one.

Thai Stuffed Peppers

6 bell peppers sliced lengthwise (one of mine was rotten so I only used 5)

Thai sausage

Cut the peppers and remove all the white ribs and seeds.

I kept the stems because I thought it looked pretty. Fill peppers with meat.

I overfilled them to compensate for shrinkage that is bound to occur during cooking.

Bake covered in a deep dish at 400 for 45 minutes. Uncover and cook for another 15 minutes. Make sure internal temperature is 170 before serving.

Green Sauce

1 cup coconut milk

1/4 cup cilantro

2 jalapenos (more if you want it spicier)

1/2 cucumber

2 tbsp yellow onion

1 tbsp fresh basil

1 tsp fresh ginger

1/2 tsp kosher salt

Blend all ingredients until smooth. I made a HUGE mess making this sauce.


Originally I thought I’d go with a Raita which is an Indian sauce that uses yogurt and fresh ingredients. (Thailand, Vietnam, and now India? Where are you taking this meal girl?) When I was done it was just too runny because coconut milk doesn’t have the heft that yogurt does. So I decided to blend it instead. It was a good call because the flavors really came together as a whole instead of being tasted separately. This can be refrigerated overnight with your sausage or made and served immediately. Spoon this over your baked peppers when they are done.

I served the peppers over saffron “rice”.  Most of you paleo kids out there already know how to make cauliflower rice. For those who are new to the lifestyle you can mimic the textures of rice with cauliflower. Just pass it through a food processor with a grating attachment, or use a cheese grater and do it by hand.

Cook on the stove top with some water or chicken stock until tender. Use as you would rice. I think the flavor is better than regular rice and don’t miss that grain one bit. T is more of a rice lover and says it’s a fair substitute.  For the saffron rice I heated up 1 cup of chicken stock with a pinch of saffron. Once I saw steam I turned off the heat. This is to let the saffron “bloom”. You can see here it is already starting to impart it’s amazing color and taste to the stock.

I let this sit for a few hours but if you are pressed for time give it at least 10 minutes.

Then cook your cauliflower in the beautiful stock. I think the flavor of cauliflower overtook the flavor of the saffron. So really, aside from a beautiful color, it is not a necessary step.  I wish it was as amazing as saffron rice, but cauliflower is just too much flavor for one little herb.

Plate and enjoy! I hope you find a good day with great company to enjoy this meal like we did.

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

3 responses to “Thai Stuffed Peppers part two

Leave a Reply

