Asado de Bodas

I love the food magazine Saveur. It has great writing and recipes. They did an article recently on traveling to Mexico and some food from the Zacatecas area. I used this recipe and modified it to be paleo. After having made it there are definitely things I will do differently next time. It was a little too sweet for the both of us and not spicy enough. The changes I made during cooking are below in the recipe. The ones I will do next time are in parentheses.

Asado de Bodas

8 dried New Mexico chiles (I couldn’t find chilies labeled New Mexico so I found dried chiles that look like the ones you can buy in New Mexico)

3 Guajilo chiles (These I found easily with other Mexican chilies and ingredients at HEB)

2 red jalapenos with seeds

1 cup of almonds

1/2 cup of raisins (I will omit this next time it was too sweet)

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

6 cloves of garlic

2 whole cloves

2 oz Mexican chocolate (I used Abuelita’s but I will try to find the one they recommend next time this one is very sweet)

3/4 yellow onion

5 cups of boiling water (I will use less next time I had to cook it with the lid off to cook it down a bunch. I think 3 cups would be plenty.)

1 tbsp coconut oil

1 tbsp bacon fat

salt and pepper

~2 lbs pork cut into chunks (I buy a huge loin from Sam’s club for about $20 and cut it into thirds extremely cost effective)

Heat chiles in a 12″ skillet over high heat cook, turning until lightly toasted, about 5 minutes transfer to a blender. (This step is important! I thought you could process all this in a food processor. Let’s just say food processor is not good for liquids.)

Return skillet to high heat and lightly toast almonds.

Transfer nuts to a blender. In the blender add everything but the fats and meat. Let this sit in the blender for a bit to soften up. In the same skillet add your fats. I liked the added taste of bacon so I used both. If you don’t like the taste, don’t use it. (But seriously, who doesn’t like the taste of bacon?) Brown the meat making sure to stir occasionally to get all sides.

By the time you’ve browned your meat, your sauce should be ready to be blended. Blend sauce until smooth.

(I did not do this and had to remove the meat to blend it some more before serving.) Pour sauce over meat and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium low and cook for an hour.

This meal had great flavor and made very tasty gravy that I ended up putting on top of my roasted broccoli. I served this over sliced red cabbage and it was a great paring of flavor. You could also make cauliflower rice as a tasty veggie to top.

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

9 responses to “Asado de Bodas

Leave a Reply

