Yum Yum Bars #472

Stephen won the contest! Thank you to all who entered I had fun with it, and I hope you did too. Stephen this is one of the things you won.

I’ve made these bars a bunch now. Each time I just throw stuff together until it looks and tastes good. Each time I tweak this that or the other thing. I’m not sure which version I’m on now, but I did write everything down this time. The best part of this recipe is that you can really use the ingredients you wish to use. It’s a pretty easy recipe. I’ve tried some new things with this version like putting in dark chocolate baking powder and using eggs.

Yum Yum Bars

5 cups of shredded coconut

3 cups of walnuts

4 cups of pecans

4 cups of almonds

5tbsp dark chocolate powder

1tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup coconut oil

1 cup of honey

1 tsp vanilla

3 eggs

1 cup of raisins

1 cup of chopped dried apricots

In a food processor blend until fine 3 cups of shredded coconut, 3 cups of walnuts, 3 cups of almonds, and 3 cups of pecans. It will look like beach sand at this point. Pour your blended mixture in a large mixing bowl. Rough chop the remaining nuts. I don’t like walnuts as much so I left them out of the rough chop. If you like them, add them. A rough chop leaves larger chunks of nuts in the bars. I usually use my food processor for this step by pulsing the nuts a few times. You can also chop them by hand if you prefer. Add rough chopped nuts and reaming shredded coconut to the mixing bowl. Add chocolate, cinnamon, eggs and fruit to bowl. Mix well until all ingredients are evenly distributed. In a small pan heat oil, honey, and vanilla until oil is melted. Pour oil mixture into large mixing bowl. Mix thoroughly.

On a well oiled baking tray press the mixture down. I used bacon fat to oil the pan for the added yum factor. Press the mixture firmly down. Let me stress this PRESS THE MIXTURE DOWN FIRMLY! This will help keep the bars from crumbling too much. I was trying to avoid too much crumbling with the addition of eggs. These bars came out better but I think next time I will try to use some nut flour to make them even more cohesive. Bake in the oven at 300 for 20 minutes.

Let the bars cool and then cut them with a pizza cutter. I had a had time not eating these. We save the crumbles and put coconut milk on them for a little dessert.

For the Crossfitters these were the bars we brought to the potluck, and this is the recipe for the jerky. We also had a batch there that was un-marinated. Obviously if you marinate your beef in soy sauce it will not be totally paleo. We prefer the marinated flavor but both kinds are good.

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

2 responses to “Yum Yum Bars #472

  • mom

    LOL I try not to ream my nuts that was funny I think you need a better spell checker…
    These bars are Certifyable good stuff yes mamm I know on good account as I have had some before – we were lucky enough not to win a contest but instead to have a wonderful daughter that sent us some. Now i can make my own as i have RECIPE!!!! thanks Ms. Leets… good work

Leave a Reply

