Simple Indian Food

Right now I’m on a break from work as it is summer time. When I am working I’m always trying to make dinner as quickly, and deliciously as possible. A few years ago I discovered that this small town has an Indian grocery store! I was so excited that I spent a ton of money on different food stuffs. The clerk wondered if this white girl had any idea what she was getting in to. I told him I used to live above an Indian restaurant in Seattle and missed my delicious spiced food. My favorite thing I purchased that day was these spice packets. All you have to do is mix them with water and you have instant curry. When I’m pressed for time I’ll take some meat from the freezer, mix up a spice packet, and pour it on the meat. I leave the meat in the fridge for a day to defrost in the delicious sauce. Then I’ll grill or bake up the meat and use the remaining sauce to cook my vegetables in.

In the interest of time saving I heat the sauce (remember it had raw meat in it so be sure to bring it to a boil) toss in frozen veggies and a little coconut milk. Serve this all in a big bowl. It always tastes amazing no matter which blend I use. These are the ones we’ve got at the store, but there are more on the market that are just as easy and delicious. I highly suggest you check out their mixes and try them all!

Today’s meal I used their Pav Baji mix. Just mix with warm water until the spice is mixed thoroughly. Pour over chicken and marinate overnight. I grilled the meat and used the sauce with some frozen vegetable medley. It was super tasty.

I heat the pot up super hot and toss the veggies in with no oil. This is to give them a little color before I put the sauce in.

If you are pressed for time this is a perfect quick meal that you can throw together in the morning and cook quickly at night. If you prefer you can even cook the meat on the stove top in the sauce. About 15-20 minutes on medium high, depending on what meat you use and how thick it is. Remove the meat and toss in veggies for 5 minutes.


Here I grilled everything before hand and then combined it with the sauce for the last few minutes. Then put it all back together with a little coconut milk. The packets do not call for it but I think it takes this dish to the next level.

Don’t forget to comment on the contest post if you would like a chance to win homemade jerky and bars.

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

Leave a Reply

