Coffee Ribs

So it seems that coffee dry rubs have been making the rounds on the food sites I follow. I decided it was time I give this a try for myself. we ran out of wood chips so I couldn’t smoke these ribs. Turns out they were very tasty without the smoker. The coffee flavor became more of a smokey flavor for the ribs. Next time I’ll probably up the heat on these, as they were tasty but mild.

Coffee Rib Rub (say that 5 times fast)

1/4 cup of coffee

1tbsp oregano

1 tbsp kosher salt (this salt is larger flakes so it is less salty, if you use regular salt cut the measurement in half)

2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp mace (or nutmeg)

Grind in a coffee grinder or food processor until there are no longer large chunks of coffee. Rub on the ribs.

Place ribs in an over safe dish, and cover with tinfoil. Cook at 200 for 5-7 hours. We went to visit friends at the 4 hour mark and they were almost done. I’m sure you could have eaten them then. I like mine so tender the meat falls off the bone.

I served this with some red cabbage coleslaw and roasted broccoli. We made bacon that morning in the oven. I didn’t pour off the bacon fat from the cookie tray so I cooked the broccoli in that. It was very tasty. For the slaw I used about 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar, 1/4 cup of olive oil, and some salt and pepper. I chopped up about half a head of cabbage, one whole cucumber, and 1/4 cup of thinly sliced onion. Make this ahead of time and toss it a few times to really get the oil and vinegar to soak in.

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

Leave a Reply

