Garlic Pepper Spice Rub

I was talking about dinner with one of my students on Wednesday. She said she wanted chicken noodle soup. I said I was having leftover carrot soup with chicken legs. Then her face lit up and she asked if I was going to put it on my blog. It makes me smile every time I hear that someone reads my blog. But someone as sweet as miss Kaleigh? awesome. So Kaleigh, HI! This one is for you.

I made this rub up by just throwing things together until it smelled good. I have a good nose for that. It has taken years and lots of failures to get here. Thankfully this time I wrote down my success.

Garlic Pepper Spice Rub

1 tbsp garlic powder

1tsp black pepper

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp onion powder

1tsp chopped onions (dried)

1/2 tsp ginger

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp caynne

1/4 tsp cardamon

1/4 tsp chili powder

1/8 tsp mace (nutmeg is the same thing but less spicy)

I rubbed this on some chicken legs and then grilled them. We ate this with leftover carrot soup and some grilled zucchini.

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

2 responses to “Garlic Pepper Spice Rub

Leave a Reply

