Rosemary Pork Shoulder

Seems like I’m not the only person who likes easy cook all day food. Had a few conversations lately about this very thing. A long cook time takes a tough inexpensive piece of meat and turns it into something of beauty. I recently threw together this dish. It started as a huge pork shoulder. I used my trusty cast iron dutch oven for all the cooking. What came out was a delicious pulled pork dinner.

Rosemary Pork Shoulder

large bone in pork shoulder

3-4 large sprigs of rosemary (mine grows in bushes in the back yard) dice half and leave the rest on the stem.

1 head of garlic peeled

2 large onions sliced

guar gum as a thickener

Oil the bottom of your pot. Place on the bottom half of the onions, garlic cloves, and two sprigs of rosemary.

Place meat in. add the rest of the onions, garlic and chopped rosemary on top and on sides.

Place a lid on and cook on low heat for 6-12 hours. Now I know this is a huge difference in time. I placed mine in before I left for work and then turned it off when I got home that night almost 12 hours later. But it would have been finished sooner had I been home. What you are looking for is fork tender. Pull the meat apart with forks. The onions and garlic will be soft and shred with the meat. This is good. The stems from the rosemary will not. Remove them.

With a ladle scoop some of the juice out and place in a sauce pan. keep the meat covered until you are ready to serve it. Add about 2tsp of guar gum to thicken your juice to make gravy. I’m not sure how paleo guar gum is. However, it is in PaleoFiber so I’m thinking it is okay. You can try coconut flour instead if you are worried about it. I’m not sure how well this works because I’ve not tried it yet. However, as a fan of gravy, I will find out!

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

Leave a Reply

