For being a total slacker, I present the tastiest tasties ever…Paleo Pizza Party Poppers

So yeah, I’ve been a slacker. Well, with regards to posting tasty awesomeness on here anyway. I’m in a tough grad school program, so maybe I have a little bit of an excuse. Maybe. Not really. Whatever.

So I found this little gem awhile back and gave it a try. Let me tell you, they’re amazing. And easy to make. Easy to burn to a crisp, too, but that’s besides the point. I’ll tell you how to not do that (hint: watch what you’re cooking…I’m special)

Ok, so you’re gonna need:

at least 20-30 pepperoni slices. I went for more, and had them cut at the deli so they were a little bigger than normal, but also thinner than I should have had them (thin ones burn easier, but crisp up nicely…its a balance)

pizza sauce- make it yourself or buy from the store (I bought from the store…so tasty)

Shredded/grated cheese- I know, I know…not Paleo. Well, they’re treats. Treat accordingly.

Toppings- whatever you would want on a pizza, get that. I used red bell peppers, onions, bacon and prosciutto

Preheat your oven to 375 (I tried at 400 the first time and burned the pepperoni to a crisp…don’t do that) and lay the slices of pepperoni on a baking sheet, put them in the oven to get them crispy, because they won’t once you add toppings. Now, original recipe called for 8 minutes, 4 mins each side, but I burned mine. So if you get them thin sliced at the deli, do 6 mins, 3 mins each side. Watch them. Carefully. They burn quick.

While the pepperoni is crisping, or before you even start if you’re like me, dice your toppings. You need to dice and chop really well and make sure its all really small pieces because, well, you’re topping pepperoni slices. There isn’t much room.

Once the pepperoni is done crisping up, top with a small spoonful of pizza sauce, and add your toppings.

After all the toppings are added, place back in the oven for about 5-7 minutes. Really, you can go up to 10 mins if you want it super crispy, but I found that between 5-7 worked for me.

Serve up and enjoy! These don’t last long, so I recommend you make a lot of them. And they taste good cold, right out of the fridge. Because sometimes I just want cold pizza 🙂

Also, bear with me as I learn (read: remember) to document my cooking processes. I tend to not take as many pictures as I should to adequately convey the pictorial message (this will be evident in future postings). Someday I will be as awesome as that girl down south 😉

3 responses to “For being a total slacker, I present the tastiest tasties ever…Paleo Pizza Party Poppers

Leave a Reply

