Steak with Broccoli Mash

My first dinner during the paleo lean down was delicious. I mashed up some broccoli because I had a ton of left over stems in my freezer. Then I dressed some beautiful rib eyes with Montreal seasoning and topped them with bacon and onions. For us this is a pretty classic way to eat the steak. Delicious too.

In a pan cook about3-4 slices of bacon and 1 sliced onion on medium low heat. This will take about 30 minutes with some stirring. You want to caramelize the onions for that sweet flavor.

Season the steaks and leave them out to raise the temperature. Steaks cook better if they aren’t cold.

In a pan place broccoli stems in 1 cup of chicken stock with two diced garlic cloves. I had the stem of about 5 crowns of broccoli. If you are buying broccoli you can use the entire crown but use only one. Cook this for 10 minutes on medium until soft. Blend in a food processor and return to pan. Add a tablespoon of butter and keep on low until the steaks are done.

Grill steaks, top with bacon and eat. We had this with salad. I only ate half of the steak so now I have lunch for tomorrow too. I feel sated and don’t feel like I had to skimp on anything. That is always a good meal.

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

Leave a Reply

