T’s New Favorite Meal

Chicken balls, awesome balls, stuffed awesome balls, not kibbeh, sorta croquettes. There is no name that isn’t either vulgar sounding or too vague to describe the dinner we had tonight. So I’ll refer to them as T’s favorite. In reality they are a stuffed chicken ball that is then “breaded” and fried. I got the idea while surfing the food sites I love to check and saw a recipe for kibbeh. The recipe wasn’t paleo and was made with fish. (I really don’t like fish) But, I loved the concept of grinding meat into a paste and stuffing it with something tasty and frying it. So I set to thinking of how I would make this delicious and paleo. I came up with this.

It was definitely a learning experience for me because I had to make adjustments as I went along in how and when to cook. I scorched one because the oil was too hot. Couldn’t really get the stuffing in because it was too leafy. In the end I came up with a killer dish that was worth all the trouble.

This is not something you can whip up quickly. Sorry. It would have been quicker if I knew what I was doing. Next time they will be more delicious and I will make twice as many.

T’s Favorite or Stuffed Chicken Balls

2 strips of bacon

4 chicken tenders

1/3 cup of coconut flour

2tsp dry chopped onion

1tsp thyme

1 tsp garlic powder

1tsp red pepper

1tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

Stuffing

2 cups of chopped spinach

3 chopped green onions

5 tbsp chopped almonds

dash of pepper

dash thyme

pat of butter

Coating

1/2 cup of coconut flour

1/2 cup of shredded coconut

Add the ingredients for the meat balls into a food processor and blend into a paste.  Cover tightly and refrigerate for an hour or up to one day.

Toss together all the stuffing ingredients in a pan until just beginning to wilt. This takes about 2 minutes on medium high.

When the stuffing has cooled enough to handle remove the meat from the fridge. It will be a sticky mess to handle. So get a large bowl of ice water and  dunk your hands into the water in between forming each ball. Dunk your hands, spoon about a golf ball size of meat into your hands. Press your thumb into the center of your golf ball. Wiggle your thumb in a circle until you form a deep well. Fill the well with your filling mixture. Carefully press closed the opening.

Continue this until all your meat is gone.

Set up two bowls: one with coconut products, the other with eggs. If you’ve ever made battered chicken or steak the process will be the same here. Get a  meat ball wet in egg, roll ball in coconut, place on rack. Repeat until all the balls are coated.

I tried to fry these and I scorched one so bad that I stopped. I’m not good at frying. T says my oil was too hot. Which is probably the case. Rather than burn the entire dinner, I baked the rest on a rack over a pan to catch the drippings. If you are a fryer, fry them, if not bake them.  I baked them at 400 rotating half way through until they were golden all around. This took about 20-30 minutes.These came out super tasty and worth the little extra hands on time. We ate these with roasted brussel sprouts and some guilty ranch dressing.

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

6 responses to “T’s New Favorite Meal

  • hil

    sounds amazing, i am going to try this as soon as i’m somewhere with a kitchen.

  • mom

    ok I know what I want you to make the first day i am out there – THEM… +Yuppers they sound really REALLY tasty … I may try them like i said with Ground Turkey meat instead – LOVE the Concept – you could go all over the board with that – stuffed all kinds of things. like double coated. stsuffed with First sausage then with the Poultry mix – hmmmmmmm oh Yeah – the mind goes crazy now

  • Ruby Chard « leetsstreet

    […] Cook for about 3 minutes. Add the leaves and cook for another 7 minutes. Stalks should be tender when done. The chard loses some of if red coloring during cooking but is still a pretty side dish. Serve as a side dish for dinner. We are eating Kibbeh here. It’s a variation of this recipe. […]

Leave a Reply

