Pesto Turkey

Deciding what to cook for green was very difficult. So many delicious foods are green. There are so many ways to make things green (naturally). Unlike yellow this decision had too many options.

I finally decided on one of my favorite sauces, pesto. Pesto typically is pine nuts, olive oil, parmesan, and basil. I figured since this is a challenge I should make a pesto from things I’ve never tried. Going with the standard formula of green leafy vegetable/herb, nut, and fat. I picked kale, cilantro, walnuts, jalapeno, and olive oil. I slathered this mixture on a turkey and roasted it. It was very tasty raw so my hopes were high. Sadly, when it came out it was not the tasty mix I had hoped for. I’m not sure what went wrong. Too many flavors? Did cooking it change the kale too much? Whatever the reason the turkey looked unappealing (think brown mush on a roast turkey) and tasted rather underwhelming.

Pesto Turkey

1 turkey defrosted

1 bundle of kale

1 bundle of cilantro

1 jalapeno

1.5 cups of walnuts

1.5 heads of garlic

1 cup of olive oil

1-2 tbsp of salt

2 onions (reserve one for inside the turkey)

Wash and cut kale and cilantro from the stem. Place the in a food processor or blender. Blend with all the above ingredients (except turkey) until it resembles a paste.

Place the remaining onion in the cavity of the turkey along with the stems of the cilantro. Make sure you cut the rubber band from the stems.

Roast the turkey in the oven at 325 for 4-5 hours until internal temperature reaches 180 when measured at or near the thigh.

The raw pesto was tasty and would make a fine sauce for pasta or veggies. The cooked pesto on the turkey was a fail. I  lieu of a finished photo Lucy said I should draw a picture of what it should have looked like. So I drew you this picture instead.

About thatgirldownsouth

Anything is possible in the big green kitchen. View all posts by thatgirldownsouth

One response to “Pesto Turkey

Leave a Reply

